Japanese Mythology
Who are the Seven Lucky Gods? (Japanese Mythology)

The seven gods of luck are Jurojin, Ebisu, Hotei, Benzaiten, Bishamonten, Daikokuten, and Fukurokuju. They are collectively known as Shichifukujin in ...

Inari – The Immensely Popular Shinto God of Foxes and Rice

When reading about Shintoism, there’s one deity whose names you’ll see over and over again – Inari Ōkami, Ō-Inari, or just Inari. This kami (deity, spirit) ...

Who Are the Seven Japanese Gods of Good Fortune?

A group of seven popular Japanese gods, the Shichifukujin is associated with good fortune and happiness. The group consists of Benten, Bishamon, Daikoku, ...

Can’t get enough?

Sign up now for weekly facts, the latest blogs, and interesting features.