Four Elements – What Do They Symbolize?

Affiliate Disclosures

All cultures across the world have some form of symbolism related to the four elements – fire, water, air, and earth. It’s widely acknowledged that these four elements sustain living beings and make life on earth possible.

The Greek philosopher, Aristotle, was the first to theorize about the four elements in 450 BCE. Based on Aristotle’s discoveries, alchemists invented four triangular shapes to symbolically represent the elements. 

The four elements are not only found in the external, material world, but are also believed to be a part of the human body. A person’s unique abilities, moods, emotions, and personalities are said to be governed and regulated by the four elements present within them. The key to a wholesome existence is to instigate balance in the universe, and within ourselves.

Different cultures tend to have their own interpretations of the elements, as we’ve covered in depth in this article. For example, in Western occult theory, the elements are hierarchical, with fire and air being more spiritual,  and water and earth more material. Some modern cultures, such as the Wicca, believe the elements to be equal.

Let’s explore the four elements, along with their symbolic significance, characteristics, attributes, and cultural associations.

Alchemy symbols four elements


  • Symbol of love, desire, anger, power, assertiveness, and energy.

Fire is considered to be the first element to be created on earth. Fire is predominantly associated with the sun, and is a warm and dry element.  It gives off light, which protects all living creatures from the shadows of night. Fire is transformative, and when merged with other elements, it can change and grow. For instance, when fire encounters air, it grows bigger, and burns brighter.

Fire is associated with the season of summer, hot afternoons, and the cardinal direction south, and is typically depicted through the colors orange, red, and yellow. It’s associated with the mythical creature, salamander.

Fire is a powerful, masculine element, and is symbolized by a triangle or a pyramid pointing upwards, towards the skies. The fire element is associated with planet Mars, and the corresponding zodiac signs are Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. Fire governs the spirit and resides within the solar plexus chakra. While fire is certainly a warm element with many benefits, too much of it can be destructive.


  • Symbol of rebirth, healing, fertility, change, dreaming, clarity, intuition.

Water is the most soothing and calming of the four elements. It’s cool and wet nature allows it to appease the mind and body. The water element can be found in oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and springs. Life on earth would not be possible without water, and every living creature from the smallest microorganism to the largest mammal depends on it. The flowing and transformative nature of water makes it a cleanser and purifier.

Water is associated with the season of autumn, sunset, and the cardinal direction west, and the colors used to depict water are blue, grey, silver and black. It’s associated with the mythical undine (an elemental being) as well as with mermaids

Water is a feminine element and is symbolized by an inverted triangle or a pyramid pointing downwards, towards the earth. The water element is associated with planet Venus, and the corresponding zodiac signs are, Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. Water governs the soul and resides within the sacral chakra. While water is undoubtedly a soothing element, too much of it can be melancholic and depressing.


  • Symbol of knowledge, perception, communication, creativity, and strategy.

Air is the element of life itself as all living creatures, both plants and animals, require air to live and thrive. Air is warm, moist, and provides the mind and body with energy. The air element can be found all around us, but its most visible manifestation is through breezes or winds.

Air is associated with the season of spring, sunrise, and the cardinal direction east and is depicted through yellow, blue, white, and grey. It is associated with the mythical sylph or giant.

Air is a powerful, masculine element, and is symbolized by a triangle or a pyramid pointing upwards, towards the skies, with a horizontal line near the top. The air element is associated with planet Jupiter, and the corresponding zodiac signs are Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius.

Air governs the mind and resides within the heart and throat chakra. While air is associated with breathing and life, too much of it can prove to be disastrous.


  • Symbol of stability, nourishment, security, fertility, health, and home.

Earth is the most materially grounded element.  It’s cool and dry nature, provides a comfortable living space for all plants and animals. The earth element can be found in fields, hills, mountains, and plains and is home to all living beings. Survival would be impossible without earth.  Earth is a rich and fertile element providing energy and sustenance to all living creatures.

Earth is associated with the season of winter, midnight, and the cardinal direction North. Earth is depicted through green, brown and yellow. It’s associated with the mythical gnome or dwarf. 

Earth is a feminine element, the great mother that nourishes and protects. It’s symbolized by an inverted triangle or a pyramid pointing downwards, towards earth. The earth element is associated with planet Saturn, and the corresponding zodiac signs Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn.

Earth governs the body and resides within the root chakra. While Earth is an important element, its power and capabilities can only be realized in the presence of the others.  

Contemporary Uses of The Four Elements 

In contemporary times, the four elements are commonly etched into tattoos, jewelry, and other accessories.  Those who feel like they are lacking a particular element often choose to wear it in the form of a pendant or tattoo it onto their skins. Some individuals also like to be connected to the four elements, by taking a dip in the ocean, gardening, lighting a fire, or meditating.

In Brief

The four elements are an integral part of many cultures and traditions, with each culture often having its own interpretation of the four elements. The four classical elements are sometimes joined by a fifth – the spirit. Check out our article here that covers all five elements and discuss their role in different cultures throughout history.

Nina Jay

Nina Jay

Nina Jay has worked as a writer and editor for over 15 years. She holds a Masters degree in Linguistics and Education, and has also studied Political Science, Ancient History and Literature. She has a wide range of interests ranging from ancient cultures and mythology to Harry Potter and gardening. She works as the chief editor of Symbol Sage but also takes the time to write on topics that interest her.

Can’t get enough?

Sign up now for weekly facts, the latest blogs, and interesting features.