Symbol Sage Sale Banner

Sahasrara – The Seventh Primary Chakra

The Sahasrara is the seventh primary chakra located on the crown of the head, and is said to lead to absolute and divine consciousness. It’s associated with violet. The chakra isn’t connected to any particular element, due to its affinity to the spiritual realm.

Sahasrara can be translated as thousand- petaled, which corresponds to the number of petals within the chakra. The thousand petals symbolize the various actions a person does to achieve enlightenment. It’s also called the centre of a million rays because it has multiple rays that radiate with a bright light. In tantric traditions, the Sahasrara is also called Adhomukha, Padma or Wyoma.

Symbol Sage Sale Banner

Design of the Sahasrara Chakra

Sahasrara symbol design

The Sahasrara chakra features a lotus flower with thousand multi-colored petals. Traditionally, these petals are arranged in a neat order of twenty levels, with fifty petals in each layer.

The innermost circle of the Sahasrara is tinged with gold, and within this space, there’s a moon region that contains a triangle. This triangle points either upwards or downwards. The triangle’s divided into several levels of consciousness such as Ama-Kala, Visarga and NirvanaKala.

In the very center of the Sahasrara chakra is the mantra Om. Om is a sacred sound which is chanted during rituals and meditation to exalt the individual to a higher plain of consciousness. The vibration in the Om mantra also prepares the practitioner for his union with the divine deity. Above the Om mantra, is a dot or bindu which is governed by Shiva, the deity of protection and preservation.

The Role of the Sahasrara

The Sahasrara is the most subtle and delicate chakra within the body. It’s associated with absolute and pure consciousness. Meditating upon the Sahasrara chakra leads the practitioner to a heightened level of awareness and wisdom.

Symbol Sage Quiz Banner

In the Sahasrara chakra, one’s soul unites with cosmic energy and consciousness.  An individual who’s able to successfully unite with the divine, will be liberated from the cycle of rebirth and death. By mastering this chakra, one can be liberated from worldly pleasures, and reach a state of absolute stillness. The Sahasrara is the place from which all the other chakras emerge.

What is Sahasrara

Sahasrara and Medha Shakthi

The Sahasrara chakra contains an important power, known as Medha Shakthi. Medha Shakthi is a robust source of energy, which is used to express strong feelings and emotions. Negative emotions such as anger, hatred, and jealousy, destroy and weaken the Medha Shakthi. Sometimes, an over-surge of the Medha Shakthi, can lead to restlessness and overexcitement.

Meditation and yoga postures, such as the shoulder stand, bending forward, and the Har posture, ensure a balance in the Medha Shakthi. Practitioners also pray, recite mantras, and chant hymns to regulate the Medha Shakthi.

The Medha Shakthi influences memory, concentration, alertness and intelligence. People mediate upon the Medha Shakthi for greater attentiveness and focus. The Medha Shakthi is an important requirement for the functioning of the brain and its organs.  

Activating the Sahasrara chakra

The Sahasrara chakra can be activated through yoga and meditation. It’s important for the practitioner to have positive thoughts, in order to fully experience spiritual consciousness. Emotions of gratitude also activate the Sahasrara chakra, and the practitioner can recite what they are grateful for. 

There are also several yogic postures that can activate the Sahasrara chakra, such as the headstand pose and the tree pose. The Sahasrara can also be activated through Kriya yoga and chanting of the Om mantra.

Factors that Hinder the Sahasrara Chakra

The Sahasrara chakra will become imbalanced if there are too many uncontrolled emotions. Intensely felt negative emotions can seep into deeper layers of the mind and prevent the practitioner from reaching a higher state of consciousness.

In order to realize the full potentials of both the Sahasrara chakra and Medha Shakthi, strong emotions and feelings need to be kept in check.

The Associated Chakras of the Sahasrara

There are several chakras associated with the Sahasrara. Let’s take a closer look at some of them.

1- Bindu Visarga

The Bindu Visarga is located at the back of the head, and it’s symbolized by a moon. The Bindu Visarga contains the point where the soul enters the body. This chakra’s the creator of all other chakras, and it’s believed to be the source of divine nectar, known as amrita.

The white drop of the Bindu Visarga represents semen, and saints use it to undo the red drop, that’s representative of menstrual blood. The Bindu Visarga’s depicted as a white petalled flower on the forehead.

2- Nirvana

The nirvana chakra is located on the very crown of the head. It has 100 petals and is white in color. This chakra’s associated with various meditative and contemplative states.

3- Guru

The Guru chakra (also called Trikuti) is located above the head, and below the Sahasrara chakra. Its twelve petals have the word guru written on it, which means teacher or spiritual leader. Saints view this as an important chakra because many yogic traditions venerate the Guru as the wisest tutor.

4- Mahanada

The Mahanada chakra is shaped like a plough and means Great Sound.  This chakra represents the primal sound from which all creation originates.

Sahasrara Chakra in Other Traditions

The Sahasrara chakra has been an important part of several other practices and traditions. Some of them will be explored below.

  • Buddhist tantric traditions: The crown wheel or crown chakra’s very important in Buddhist tantric traditions. The white drop present within the crown chakra, helps the yogi in the process of death and rebirth.
  • Western occultists: Western occultists, who follow the Kabbalah traditions,  note that the Sahasrara is similar to the concept of Kether that represents pure consciousness.  
  • Sufi traditions: In the Sufi belief system, the Sahasrara is associated with the Akhfa, that’s  located on the crown. The Akhfa reveals visions of Allah and is thought to be the most holy region within the mind.

In Brief

The Sahasrara is the seventh primary chakra that represents the highest state of spiritual consciousness and is highly important. Pracititioners must master all the other chakras before they attempt to meditate upon the Sahasrara. The Sahasrara chakra moves beyond the material realm and connects the practitioner with divine consciousness.

Affiliate Disclosures


Dani Rhys
Dani Rhys

Dani Rhys has worked as a writer and editor for over 15 years. She holds a Masters degree in Linguistics and Education, and has also studied Political Science, Ancient History and Literature. She has a wide range of interests ranging from ancient cultures and mythology to Harry Potter and gardening. She works as the chief editor of Symbol Sage but also takes the time to write on topics that interest her.